Alabama Delinquent Property Tax Records

Alabama Delinquent Property Tax Records


Alabama became the 22nd state to join the United States on December 14, 1819. The area that is now Alabama was originally home to indigenous tribes, including the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole peoples. In the early 16th century, Spanish explorers arrived in the region, followed by French and British explorers in the 17th and 18th centuries.

During the early 19th century, Alabama’s economy was primarily based on agriculture, with cotton becoming a major cash crop. The state became a prominent slave-holding state, and the plantation system fueled its economy. Alabama seceded from the Union and joined the Confederacy during the American Civil War, which lasted from 1861 to 1865. After the Civil War, Alabama experienced a period of Reconstruction, during which civil rights were extended to African Americans, but also faced challenges such as Jim Crow laws and racial segregation.

In the 20th century, Alabama played a significant role in the civil rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s. The state was a site of key events, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, led by civil rights leaders like Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King Jr. Today, Alabama is known for its rich cultural heritage, including music, literature, and sports.


Property ownership in Alabama is governed by state laws and regulations. In Alabama, land ownership is based on a system of private property, where individuals and entities can buy, sell, and transfer property. The state has a mix of urban and rural areas, with varying property values depending on location and land use. Property ownership is typically established through deeds, which are recorded with county officials.


Alabama is located in the southeastern region of the United States. It is bordered by Tennessee to the north, Georgia to the east, Florida to the south, and Mississippi to the west. The state has a diverse landscape, including mountains in the north, forests, rivers, lakes, and coastal areas along the Gulf of Mexico in the south. The climate in Alabama is generally warm and humid, with hot summers and mild winters.


In Alabama, taxes are levied at the state, county, and local levels. The state of Alabama imposes a state income tax on individuals and corporations, with rates ranging from 2% to 5%, depending on income levels. Alabama also has a sales tax, which is a percentage added to the purchase price of goods and services, and the rate varies by county and municipality. Property taxes in Alabama are assessed at the county level and are used to fund local government services, such as schools, roads, and law enforcement.

Wealth Equality:

Like many other states in the United States, Alabama faces challenges related to wealth equality. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, as of 2021, the median household income in Alabama is below the national average, and the poverty rate is higher than the national average. There are disparities in wealth and income distribution, with some areas of the state experiencing higher levels of poverty and income inequality than others. Efforts to address wealth equality and economic disparities in Alabama include initiatives focused on education, workforce development, job creation, and access to affordable housing and healthcare.

Overall, the history of Alabama is complex, with a mix of cultural heritage, economic challenges, and social progress. The state has evolved from its early agricultural roots to a diverse economy with a mix of urban and rural areas. Property ownership, geography, taxes, and wealth equality are all important aspects of Alabama’s history and continue to shape the state’s present-day culture.

Dallas County
DeKalb County
Elmore County
Escambia County
Etowah County
Fayette County
Franklin County
Geneva County
Greene County
Hale County
Henry County
Houston County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Lamar County
Lauderdale County
Lawrence County
Lee County
Limestone County
Lowndes County
Macon County
Madison County

Marengo County
Marion County
Marshall County
Mobile County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Morgan County
Perry County
Pickens County
Pike County
Randolph County
Russell County
St. Clair County
Shelby County
Sumter County
Talladega County
Tallapoosa County
Tuscaloosa County
Walker County
Washington County
Wilcox County
Winston County